There are 4 public holidays over Christmas and New Year.

  • Christmas Day (25 December)
  • Boxing Day (26 December)
  • New Year’s Day (1 January)
  • 2 January.

These public holidays are observed on the actual day when they fall on a weekday.

If you would like to know more or have any other queries relating to Payroll
please get in touch with Top Flight Qualified Payroll team 

Setting of Public Holidays

The Holidays Act 2003 lists the holidays but does not generally set dates for them. Some holidays are set by legislation (e.g. Waitangi Day Act 1976, ANZAC Day Act 1966, Sovereigns Birthday Observance Act 1952), while others are religious holidays (Easter and Christmas).

Provincial Anniversary Days are observed locally by custom and practice and are generally prescribed by regional or city councils. You can confirm dates with organisations such as church dioceses, local city and provincial councils, other government departments and business organisations. These provinces relate to the former Provinces of 19th Century New Zealand and are not related to or determined by present-day Districts or Regions.

To see Public holidays and anniversary dates until 2020 click here